Board Members

Subscribe to the Self Care Forum e-newsletter for updates, resources, ideas and news about the latest self care activities. 


Dr John Chisholm OBE, Men’s Health Forum

Professor Rob Darracott, McIntosh Health Partners (Self Care Forum Treasurer)

Helen Donovan, Royal College of Nursing (Self Care Forum Chair)

Renata Drinkwater, Non Executive Director Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care / Non Executive Director Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS FT

Dr Dominic Horne, Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Michelle Howarth, Salford University

Rhian Last, Associate of Experience Led Care Programme

Dr Pete Smith OBE (Self Care Forum President)

Self Care Forum Board:

Dr Austen El-Osta, Self Care Academic Research Unit (SCARU), Imperial College London

Dr Chee Yeen Fung, Health Education England

John Smith

Ade Williams, Bedminister Pharmacy

Chief Executive:

Dr Knut Schroeder, GP and Expert Self Care Ltd

Interviews with some of our current and former Self Care Forum Board Members, including their motivations for joining, can be found on the Interviews page

PAGB (, the national body representing the consumer healthcare industry is a member of the Self Care Forum. PAGB provides the Secretariat for the Self Care Forum and sponsors the Self Care Forum’s website. We would like to make it clear that the views expressed by the Self Care Forum Board and self care champions are entirely their own.